About

About Me

I’ve never been good at doing “About Me” type pages, but I’ll do the best I can =)

I guess I’ll just start near the beginning. I was born in California, and then moved to South Carolina when I was two, and I’ve lived there ever since. I live in pretty small town just south of Charlotte, NC. Growing up, I’ve had a lot of interesting opportunities. I was homeschooled for my entire childhood education, and after that went to college. My parents always gave me the option of going into the Public School System, but I never wanted to. Being Homeschooled, gave me some very unique opportunities and empowered me to be able to customize my education in infinite ways. As I was growing up, I loved weather. Hurricanes, Tornados, Rain, all of it. Of course, I didn’t like the damage that these powerful storms caused, but I was always fascinated with them. During Hurricane Season, any time a storm was active, I would constantly watch the Weather Channel. Hurricanes are what fascinated me most. I had a second love as well, Computers, anything and everything to do with computers. I was enthralled with how computers were being used to predict where and when a hurricane would strike. At the time, I seriously considered a career studying hurricanes and computer forecasting technologies. As I got older, I decided I actually enjoyed Computers more, and decided that IT was my field. I still love weather, and I’m still an avid watcher of hurricanes and other weather patterns. I still have some of the weather books my Mom bought for me.

I was definitely a weird kid, for my foreign language, I decided to take Latin. I also studied Roman and Greek Mythology (Greek was my favorite though). I even participated in national exams, and even got a Bronze medal for Greek Mythology. As my interests headed in to computers, I started learning how to troubleshoot them. Take them apart, put them back together again, the works. At 12 or 13, somewhere around in there, I interned at a local computer repair firm. I loved it. After that, I continued working on computers on the side. My first real job (with a paycheck) was as a lifeguard for a local aquatics center. I enjoyed teaching young kids how to swim. After that, I landed a job at Kentucky Fried Chicken. KFC was an enlightening experience for me, it really helped me develop some social skills. I acquired some other skills there as well, how to deal with money, how to serve customers. I ended up as a shift supervisor, and learned some managerial skills, how to handle paperwork, etc. When I was 18, and getting ready to head to college, I left KFC to work with my dad at a local Textile Machinery company. It was a summer temp job, and I worked there for two summers. It was a harder job than KFC, but I loved it. It also paid more, so that helps :-). When I was in school, during the non summer months, I worked with the university as a Teacher’s Assistant. I assisted the Computer Science professor, and I loved helping students. Towards the end of my college experience, I obtained a full time job with a large Credit Union here in town. For two semesters, I worked full time there (40 hours a week), and went to school full time as well. I never ever want to do that again. I would go into work at 8:00AM, get off at 5PM, head to my classes, and would wrap up around 9 to 10PM depending on the day of the week. I don’t think I could do that again. I moved around in the Credit Union, ending up in the IT Department. I then accepted a position with a local government as a Systems Engineer which is the role I’m in today :-). I also own a Web Hosting Business (I have the systems that put websites on the internet).

During this time, while I was still at KFC, I met a wonderful girl by the name of Cristy. In March of 2005, I asked her to be my girlfriend. We were almost inseparable, spent tons of time together. I knew from the beginning that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with her. In January of 2006, I asked her to be my wife hoping that she felt the same way, and she said yes. In June of 2007, we got married in North Myrtle Beach, SC. In December of 2011, we were blessed with our daughter, Emilee. We had work hard to get her (I’ll explain in a later post), but she finally arrived. She’s beautiful, funny, stubborn, independent, and pretty much your average awesome toddler. I’m only slightly biased ;-), I promise.

So that’s it about me personally. My goal is to become a Stay At Home Dad, but I also have to support my family. So I have to find a way to have my cake and eat it too, as the saying goes. My wife became a SAHM in November of 2011, and she’s loved it. I just feel I’m missing so much of my daughter’s childhood. For more info on this, read my Start Here page. I’m new to the blogging thing, but I have a lot of blogging friends, and host several blogs with my hosting company. I’m on a journey, and I want to share it. I’m hopeful that some of the things I write about, may help someone else looking to do the same thing.

Thanks!


Share Button